Herb Alpert Beyond and Cohesive Leak 15 (G-Side)

When I was I three years old my Pop/Dad had an audio system which he bought while stationed in Germany. Pop’s was proud of that system we had in the den that later became my room. Pop would take the speaker covers off the front and lean them on the side to add to the presentation of his entertainment center. Especially when he had company, most of the time an old friend from the neighborhood, or an old Army buddy. Pop’s record collection spanned from Parliament to Simon and Garfunkel. This is before I was introduced to hip hop, so music was whatever my folks would play. There always was this particular song that I think helped to shape my view of life, music, and my upbringing, Herb Alpert’s “Beyond”. The word ‘Beyond” means a lot to me. Go beyond expectation. The ending point is just beyond that ridge. Go beyond the abyss to find the hidden treasures of the ocean. I can remember being a young boy staring at the speaker as if it was a 72 inch flatscreen with HD, 3D, 1080P, I can see clearly now the rain is gone invention. (This is before we had cable and mama started watching Falcon Crest. S/O to Daniel Wiesman.) I remember this clear as day. The first time I heard those trumpets I think I found my ear for music or at least what I wanted to hear musically. This song had to be what the future sounded like to the composers, producers, and musicians during this period. From a living standpoint I never wanted to be average. I never desired to be like them or go along just to get along. I wanted to go beyond. This song Herb Alpert put together in 1980 was a masterpiece to me. I have always wanted to incorporate this song, this musical foundation for me, into something we were doing, producing, or promoting. Well I guess this is that time. I present to you Leak 15.

Leave a Reply

