An Introspective View

Going into this record we had not a clue the album would get started only months after dropping Huntsville International Project . This album was propelled into motion even before we opened for Yelawolf at the Bottletree. The only thing this year that beat out the start of this project was the call from Chris Quality asking if we wanted to come to Europe and do some shows. The whole time we were performing in March and April, SXSW to Guilford College, google chat, text messages, and subliminal tweets have been blanketing the process of One. If you have been paying attention I want to take you back to January 19th 2010. The actual work started January 23rd, 2010. Here is an introspective look to the beginning of the road to one.

 


From: Codie G <huntsvillegotstarz@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 5:18 PM
Subject: G-Side’s Manager
To: johnturnerjr@gmail.com

 

 

 

John,

 

I want to first say wow. Your work is amazing. My business partner gave me your email. I would really like for you to work on some projects for us. I think our next project will be the biggest album of this early decade, mainstream or underground. Let’s connect and see what we can hash out. I want to send you some links to some of the older things that G-Side have done. Shoot me a number and the best time to call. I got some ideas for our next project.

 

http://www.thefader.com/2008/10/03/freeload-g-side-speed-of-sound/


Codie G
Director of Marketing
Slowmotion Soundz
www.huntsvillegotstarz.wordpress.com
@CodieG256 (Twitter)

“Slowmotion Soundz is the Brand, Block Beataz Produced”


From: John Turner <johnturnerjr@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 5:36 PM
Subject: Re: G-Side’s Manager
To: Codie G <huntsvillegotstarz@gmail.com>

Codie, 

 

Thank you for the kind words, and the feeling is mutual.  Since one of my good friends, who writes for a few music blogs and magazines, put me onto G-Side, SMS, and that Block Beataz production, I have been amazed at what I have heard.  I love music, but hip-hop more than any genre, and it is essential in my work flow to have something on.  As of late, I have been working on a new series of paintings for an upcoming show, aside from my usual design work, and Huntsville International has been on probably 75% of the time in the past 2 months.  It has been a great influence.  I have to wrap up some things at the office, then head back to Brooklyn and run a few errands, but I will be around after 8 – 9pm.  I am up every night until 2 or 3am working on paintings or other pieces, so feel free to give me a call.  I would love to hear what’s in store for the next project and build upon some things.  Also, I always have my phone on me, so e-mails always come through too.  

 

Best, 

 

John Turner

http://www.johnturnerjr.com/updates

Leave a Reply

